Agriculture

Enough

I’m no one special. I am just an ordinary, small town girl from rural Wisconsin who was raised in a farm family.

Growing up I never saw my future back in that same small town where I am now raising a family and a small herd of beef cattle while I also work full time off the farm. I found my passion for agriculture while living in the big city of Amsterdam, the Netherlands.

I do not have near the experience nor the knowledge that both my parents have when it comes to farming.

Feeding calves at night time.
Doing calf chores at night.

I often wonder if my love for agriculture will be enough…

Will it be enough to grow my hobby into a full time job?

Will it be enough to help support and take care of my family?

Will it be enough to keep me going if I struggle to pay bills?

Will it be enough to continue the legacy my parents worked so hard to build long after they’re gone?

Motherhood happened fast for me. I don’t have that much experience when it comes to babies. Just as I wonder if my love for agriculture will be enough, I wonder if my love for my son will be enough…

I love being a mom.
I love you.

Will it be enough to help him grow into a smart, well behaved young man?

Will it be enough to teach him right from wrong and keep him safe?

Will it be enough to carry him through if our time together on this earth together is cut short?

Like I said, I’m no one special. My only hope is that at the end of the day, the people and the animals I love will know that I love them and that what I’ve given them is enough.

You only live once. But if you live right once is enough.
You only live once.
Leave a Reply

